Apt-get install golang, next?

Hi, I am new to Go,
What should i do next after install golang on debian 9?
How to add path and add github.com to code?

My first step would be to apt-get remove it and download the latest version from https://golang.org/dl. Unpack it into /usr/local/ (so that it becomes /usr/local/go), add /usr/local/go/bin to your $PATH and you’re good to go.

As a normal user your Go code ("$GOPATH") then by default lives in ~/go. You can go get github.com/someone/whatever and it’ll be downloaded to there and compiled.

7 Likes

Thank you calmh Jakob Borg,
i searched on go and find go in:
/usr/lib/go
/usr/lib/go-1.7
/usr/share/go
/usr/share/go-1.7

When i write echo $GOPATH i didn’t return any thing:
$ echo $GOPATH
#nothing
$ su

echo $GOPATH

#nothing

when i did:
$ go get github.com/jochasinga/golang-book/tree/master/chapter11/math
package github.com/jochasinga/golang-book/tree/master/chapter11/math: cannot download, $GOPATH not set. For more details see: go help gopath

Should i do:
export GOPATH=$HOME/gocode
export PATH=$PATH:$GOPATH/bin

I’d really go with Jakob’s recommendation: apt remove that old version of Go. As you said, you are new to Go, so unless you like unresolved bugs and less performant code, there’s no reason for starting with Go 1.7 instead of Go 1.10

That said, I’m running Debian 9 too. Just unpack the latest version to /usr/local and then add those exports to .bashrc.

4 Likes

To add what Jakob and Ignacio said by default apt will install an older version of go which requires you to setup a GOPATH where you packages will go when you run go get, but if you install a latest version >1.10 then you don’t have to configure GOPATH, it defaults to your home directory for user which makes it much easier so follow what Jakob mentioned above and get a new version of go.

1 Like

thank you all,
i did this tutorial
https://www.tecmint.com/install-go-in-linux/
and worked fine but when i open another linux terminal and write :
$ go version