Working with json

Hello,
I started learning Go recently, and I wanted to make sure that I understood correctly that the only way to work with json format is by Marshal and unmarshal ?

coming from less strict languages like php/js where I don’t need to pre-define/know the structure of the json i’m going to get this left me very unsure.

I got to work with many 3rd patry api’s where the response is unpredictable… sometimes the structure changes depending on if the operation was successful or not, sometimes the api is written by baboons and i’m prepared for any response… sometimes devs change the api without letting anyone know (int can be suddenly a string … or a bigger int)

How do this work with Go? how can i work with such cases when i need to know 1000% of the time the exact response?
even in the most simple example I tried where i was the creator of the json string it was a pain to define 4 structs and nest them just to access 1 value from a string :fearful:

1 Like

JSON has to be marshaled and unmarshaled no matter the language because it is a serialization format. The fundamental problem is the difference between type systems of go and json. Here are some tools to help out:

If you just need to extract some values, https://github.com/tidwall/gjson will help. Of course, if you need most of the data it is better to unmarshal the whole thing.

https://mholt.github.io/json-to-go/ or https://github.com/ChimeraCoder/gojson can help generate the go data structure from some json input. Use the output to quick start whatever you are doing.

json.RawMessage can be used to defer the unmarshaling of a nested type until you figure out what it should be. This is useful when a response envelope tells you what type the contents is.