Why is this printing twice?

Hello everyone! I’m really new to Go, so I thought what better way to learn the language but by creating a guess the number game!

Its going fairly good, parses user input…but there’s something I just can’t understand.
I have this code:

package main

import (
	"fmt"
	"math/rand"
	"strconv"
)

func randRangeInt(min int, max int) int {
	return min + rand.Intn(max-min)
}

func validateInput(input string) (int) {
	result, err := strconv.Atoi(input)

if err != nil {
		return -1
	} else {
		return result
	}
}

func main() {
	var secret int = randRangeInt(0, 100)
	var userGuess string

fmt.Println("I'm thinking of a number between 0 and 100. Try guessing it:")

fmt.Scanf("%s", &userGuess)

result := validateInput(userGuess)

for result < 0 {
		fmt.Println("Try again. Between 0 and 100.")
		fmt.Scanf("%s", &userGuess)
		result = validateInput(userGuess)
	}

if result > -1 {
		switch {
		case result < secret:
			fmt.Println("Your guess is too low")
		case result > secret:
			fmt.Println("Your guess is too high")
		case result == secret:
			fmt.Println("That's it!")
		}
	} else {
		panic("Something went wrong")
	}
}

and in the main function theres a check, if the result returned from the validateInput functinon is less than 0 (meaning there was an error converting it), that’ll prompt the user again, to input something else. And here’s the problem* I’m having. When I intentionally input something that’s not a number, it prompts twice, like:

Can someone tell me why this is?

I know it might be a dumb question, but like I said, I just started using go, and this is quite confusing. Thanks for anyone who’s open to help :smiley:

Edit 1: I’m not particularly interested in better error handling or anything like that (altho it’s much appreciated). I just want to know why it prints twice.

I can’t reproduce your problem.

$ go run main.go
I'm thinking of a number between 0 and 100. Try guessing it:
Try again. Between 0 and 100.
Your guess is too high