Why is it so hard to just take user input!

I just started learning golang with a good state of mind, but even though it is termed simplistic language, there are so many ways just to take the user input and all of them are so confusing.

I may just be hanging on with my views from other languages which I was told not to before getting into golang, but still, how come in a modern language one has to type like 4-5 lines to take user input.

Kindly help me by checking my code, and also can it be optimized? It is to input an array using bufio. Kindly pardon me since it’s been just 2 days since I began learning.

// input function
func getInput(prompt string, r *bufio.Reader) (string, error) {
	fmt.Println(prompt)
	input, err := r.ReadString('\n')
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal("Error while reading input!")
	}
	return strings.TrimSpace(input), err
}

// main function
func main() {
	reader := bufio.NewReader(os.Stdin)              // Reader
	input, _ := getInput("Enter the size: ", reader) // Get Input function
	size, _ := strconv.Atoi(input)                   // Parse string to input

var arr []int // decclare a slice
	for i := 0; i < size; i++ {
		var x int
		fmt.Scanf("%d", &x)
		arr = append(arr, x)
	}
	fmt.Println(arr)
}

I do not know if this apply to your case, but If you use a web form you can use Javascript to get the input from the form.

var myForm = document.getElementById('form');
myForm.addEventListener('submit', function(event) {
  var formData = new FormData(myForm)
  var object = {};
  formData.forEach(function(value, key) {
    object[key] = value;
  });
  var json = JSON.stringify(object)
  alert(json)
});

The output is JSON that you can process both in Go and Javascript.

how come in a modern language one has to type like 4-5 lines to take user input.

I’m assuming you’re talking about getInput. For the sake of brevity, and ignoring errors (like many languages idiomatically do), you could read input from stdin like so:

var value string