Why can't I call an interface with a collection of methods from the main package?

I am really new to golang and I am trying to see how encapsulation really works in go.

I have the following structure:

-- package a
    -a_core.go
    -a.go
    -models.go
-- main.go

In models.go I have structs for request and responses for an api call,

a.go has an empty struct which is private and a public interface which I want to expose with various methods
a_core.go just has some business logic which would be called in my interface implementation
Then I have a main.go where I just call the public interface.

package a

type myFunction struct{}

type MyFunc interface {
	Create(myData *MyData) (*MyData, error)
	Fetch(test string)
	Delete(test string)
}

//Concrete implementations that can be accessed publicly
func (a *myFunction) Create(data *MyData) (*MyData, error) {
	return nil, nil	
}

func (a *myFunction) Fetch(test string) {

}

func (a *myFunction) Delete(test string) {

}

In main.go, I call the interface my first create the MyData pointer with values

data := &a.MyData{
     /////
   }

result, err := a.MyFunc.Create(data)

I get the following error when I do this,

too few arguments in call to a.MyFunc.Create

cannot use data (variable of type *a.MyData) as a.MyFunc value in argument to a.MyFunc.Create: missing method CreatecompilerInvalidIfaceAssign

Please what am I doing wrong?

Yup - I’m also a noob and ran into this the other day.

First issue is that you’ve made myFunction private.

Second issue is that to access an Interface method with a pointer receiver you have to:

1. Create a concrete version of the struct.
  2. Cast the address to the interface.

I think you’ll find that this works:

package main

import "fmt"

type MyFunction struct{}

type MyInterface interface {
	Create(myData *MyData) (*MyData, error)
	Fetch(test string)
	Delete(test string)
}

type MyData struct {
	S string
}

func (a *MyFunction) Create(data *MyData) (*MyData, error) {