Which approach is better, and does it matter?

(Jos) #1

I’m a beginner that studied 2 books about Go, and I’d say I know the coding a bit. But something that I still struggle with (also from a confidence standpoint) is choosing amongst different options.

Say for instance I want to reverse a string. I found/wrote at least 3 ways to do that today:

func reverseString(s string) string {
	runes := []rune(s)
	for i, j := 0, len(runes)-1; i < j; i, j = i+1, j-1 {
		runes[i], runes[j] = runes[j], runes[i]
	}
	return string(runes)
}
func reverseString2(s string) string {
	r := []rune(s)
	for i, j := 0, len(r)-1; i < len(r)/2; i, j = i+1, j-1 {
		r[i], r[j] = r[j], r[i]
	}
	return string(r)
}
func reverseString3(s string) string {
	size := len(s)
	buf := make([]byte, size)
	for start := 0; start < size; {
		r, n := utf8.DecodeRuneInString(s[start:])
		start += n
		utf8.EncodeRune(buf[size-start:], r)
	}
	return string(buf)
}

My questions:

• How do I know or can tell which of these approaches is ‘the best’?
  • Does it matter which approach I use? (Given how performance-oriented Go is, I’d say yes.)
  • And from a broader perspective: how to deal with these ambiguous situations as a beginner?

(Yamil Bracho) #2

First you have to determine how to measure your options. Speed ? Memory consumption ? ease of programming ?

HTH,
Yamil

(Bogdan Dinu) #3

The best approach would be the one in which you don’t convert from string to []byte and back, meaning reverseString3.

(Jos) #4

Good question. But I don’t really know. I don’t expect the speed of the three options to be very different. The same for the memory. So I’d suspect that ease of programming outweighs those other factors?

Ah I didn’t knew that. Thanks. Are the []rune arrays (and their operations) from the first two options are much more expensive than calling two additional methods? (DecodeRuneInString(), EncodeRune()).

(Jos) #5

Just made my first benchmark test in trying to figure it out. :slight_smile: