What is the best way to learn go today?

Hello there everyone,
I am new to this community and to GoLang in general.
(I am junior developer and currently finish my degree in software engineering).

Recently I have received a task in my job,
the first thing I have to do is decide on the technologies I want to implement my solution with.
After a little research over the web, I have decided that Go might be well fitted to my solution.
I have never used it before and I’d like to do a real extensive tutorial and get a good base knowledge of it.

I have already tried a Udemy course " **Learn How To Code: Google’s Go (golang) Programming Language " by Todd McLeod and I find his teaching method not quite suited for me.
Currently I am going through YouTube video tutorial by freecodecacdemy which is pretty good but feels a little bit outdated…

Can anyone recommend on a good source?

I really like https://gobyexample.com/ if you’re interested in getting the basics fast. However, you should have experience in any other language. After that, you can practice by creating an application that comes to your mind.

Good luck in your beginnings!

3 Likes

Hi @itamar27,

Are you referring to this one: Learn Go Programming - Golang Tutorial for Beginners - YouTube

Indeed it looks outdated as it shows pages from golang.org (while the Go team moved to go.dev with most of the content in the meantime). However, Go is a very stable language that even comes with a compatibility promise, so most of what you learn there should still apply today. Having said that, the Go toolchain is perhaps the part of the language that changed most - especially recently when Go Modules were introduced. Not sure if the video covers that (I did not go through the 6 hours of video to check that :slight_smile:)