What is a "package" in golang? Official explanation/glossary

I would like to understand what “package” means in the context of golang.

The Go Programming Language Specification has a section about it, but I am new to golang and
looking for something glossary-like explanation of the term “package”.

1 Like

Edit, sorry, I provided my own answer rather than a pointer to an official one. Probably not official, but here’s a brief description from the Donovan and Kernighan book, page 2 https://www.gopl.io/ch1.pdf

Go code is organized into packages, which are similar to libraries or modules in other languages. A package consists of one or more .go source files in a single directory that define what the package does. Each source file begins with a package declaration, here package main, that states which package the file belongs to…

1 Like

@mje thank you for your answer.

Here are two rule which I reverse-engineered by reading the errors which I get from vscode:

package rule 1:

Imagine you have two files: mydir/a.go and mydir/b.go

If a.go uses “package main”, then b.go must use “package main”, too.

package rule 2:

if a.go defines a function, then b.go can use the function without importing it.

Are these rules correct? Are there official docs about this (for users, no the language spec)?

I am currently learning golang via the tutorial and gobyexample. AFAIK both sources don’t explain
above rules. But maybe I missed it.

The Go language specification has a lot of text about packages, though in a “spec” manor and therefore not necessarily easy to read:

Pardon me citing a book, and I suppose this reveals my age, but I learned Go from the Donovan & Kernighan (as I learned C from K&R and Java from Gosling), so I don’t know online references as thoroughly.

Rule 1: