What are some fun or interesting projects you've worked on?

Heya gophers :slight_smile:

Just thought it’d be fun to find out what some fun or interesting projects you gopher’s have either worked on in the past or are currently working on now.

To get the ball rolling, one of my favorite fun projects was actually one of my first ever when I started learning Go, which I now use almost daily.

Pretty much, it stores a list of my favorite tv shows that I like watching and where I’m up to (season and episode number), then for each show in the list, concurrently scrapes certain websites which I use to tell me if there’s a new episode out and when there is, it automatically returns 2 links for each new episode, one to a page where I can stream the episode and one that’s a direct link to download it.

5 Likes

I recently had a project where I needed to wrangle some port security on Cisco devices. So I whipped up a CLI that used go-snmp to send sets to the appropriate OIDs in the right order to set, remove, and clear port security on the interfaces. It tied into SolarWinds for the desired state of the interfaces so all they needed to do was set a handful of interfaces to “DesiredPortSecurity” = “On” and my code did the rest.

2 Likes

One of the things I personally enjoyed working on a lot was the virtual machine I started (Rusalka). It’s still unfinished at this point, but it gave me a chance to take an older virtual machine I wrote and re-think the ISA and how certain parts of it were approached. The newer version borrowed a lot from Lua’s design in that the instruction set is much smaller this time around, owing to some of Lua’s interesting choices around how to keep its instruction set small.