Websockets & group of connections

Just gonna keep it simple for now. I’m currently converting a project from php and a RESTful API to Go and web sockets to keep it fast and real time. I’ve been working with Go for about 3 months now so I feel confident enough to do this. Im using the gorilla toolkit web socket package which is making the process a ton less difficult except web sockets is still a relatively new technology to me so I am having some trouble.

Here is my problem…

Im creating an app which you connect to by a unique key in the url which will enter you into a group with other people which have also connected to that group via the unique key in the url. This isn’t a chat app but it follows the same concept in my opinion. If someone goes to a unique url then they’ll get access to that group of connections and get all the info from those connections which are sent from other connections in that group.

I’ve thought of different ways of doing this like making a struct hub and then adding a slice of pointer to websocket.Conn I’ve got this working except it only works with one group or i have to hard code all the groups which i don’t want since i want to keep it dynamic. The unique keys will be stored in a db along with the stats that go with that group and key. I’ve thought of using the db to store the connections with the key but i don’t think i can store them because when query the connections associated with each key it will be a string and not a pointer to a websocket.Conn which won’t work

That is my issue i’ve ran into. I would much appreciate and pointers to tips on how i should do this or how i should go about it. Let me know if theres more info you need and ill gladly update the original post.

Thank you

Luis R

1 Like

Something like this should be the nicest way to implement this: https://play.golang.org/p/uUC9RDT0tN Note: code untested, and remember to run with race detector.