Versioning Libraries - Vanity URLs? Tags?

Vendoring and tagging typically address the consumption of libraries from an application perspective, but what about versioning libraries across breaking changes?

As a library author I can SemVer all I like, but since go get and related tools operate on HEAD, most casual (non-org) library users are still going to suffer breakage when I make a breaking change.

So, in combination with SemVer (via Git tags), what are the approaches for maintaining two (or more) versions of a library?

1. Versioned import URLs similar to gopkg.in - e.g. example.com/v1/pkgname vs. example.com/v2/pkgname via an external service until issue 10913 is resolved to allow the go-import <meta> tag to specify branches/revisions.
  2. Separate repositories with separate import paths e.g. github.com/elithrar/pkg and github.com/elithrar/ctx-pkg? (which doesn’t have to be distinct from option 1 if you use the meta tag to point to these)
  3. Something else entirely?

For context, I’m attempting to maintain the “v1” version of a few HTTP libraries using gorilla/context whilst also providing a “v2” that uses net/context instead. Making it easy for new Gophers—who aren’t going to git subtree a specific tag or branch into their /vendor/ dir—to use the package they need without too much confusion is a top priority.

Right now I’m leaning towards vanitydomain.com/v{N}/pkgname pointing to different GitHub repositories, which works with both the go tool and GoDoc from today.

Open to suggestions & feedback here.

1 Like

I believe that incompatible versions of the same library should use different import paths (unless your library is experimental/under active development or you can force all your users to update their code).

And this is not only dictated by how go get works. Consider the following situations: