Variables declaration - func and package levels

I’m trying to understand the philosophy behind why Go-Compiler complains about variables declared but not used inside a func but not when declared at the packet level?

Are declared variables not used at the packet level silently removed or maintained for other scenarios?

1 Like

The compiler knows about unused function variables. The compiler does not know about unused package variables, the linker does.

2 Likes

That does not answer the question, why unused function-scoped variables raise an error while unused globals do not.

2 Likes

The question was “why does the compiler not complain”, this question has been answered, with “it can’t know”.

A possible follow up question would be, why does the linker not complain. Though that will probably something simple as “no one ever though about implementing this”.

On a quick glance I found no complaints about this issue in the bug tracker.

2 Likes

As a newbie, I just learned about “linker” but the question can be amended to “Why the compilation-process doesn’t complain about unused declared variables at package level”

Calm down guys. There are 2 parts of questions here:

1. Why function complaint about unused variables?
  2. What happened to package level’s unused (private) variables?

For the 1st question: it is because function is part of stack memory storing execution data. If you declare but unused variable, a portion of memory will be allocated and wasted. Another good reason for removing them is to reduce potential memory related bugs as a whole.

@petrus answered the in-depth technical aspect correctly: the compiler does compile functions which hence has the visibility of the unused function.

That is why the compiler will and always complain about unused variables inside a function.

Resource:

https://golang.org/doc/effective_go#blank_unused