Using paypal/gatt to discover nearby Bluetooth-enabled phone

I’m trying to use paypal/gatt to discover nearby Bluetooth devices. To start, I’m just using their discoverer example. It works well in that I can detect my headphones, but it doesn’t see phones (either iPhone or Nexus 5X). I’m a total newbie to Bluetooth programming. Does anyone know how I’d have to change the example to see phones?

package main

import (
	"fmt"
	"log"

"github.com/paypal/gatt"
	"github.com/paypal/gatt/examples/option"
)

func onStateChanged(d gatt.Device, s gatt.State) {
	fmt.Println("State:", s)
	switch s {
	case gatt.StatePoweredOn:
		fmt.Println("scanning...")
		d.Scan([]gatt.UUID{}, false)
		return
	default:
		d.StopScanning()
	}
}

func onPeriphDiscovered(p gatt.Peripheral, a *gatt.Advertisement, rssi int) {
	fmt.Printf("\nPeripheral ID:%s, NAME:(%s)\n", p.ID(), p.Name())
	fmt.Println("  Local Name        =", a.LocalName)
	fmt.Println("  TX Power Level    =", a.TxPowerLevel)
	fmt.Println("  Manufacturer Data =", a.ManufacturerData)
	fmt.Println("  Service Data      =", a.ServiceData)
}

func main() {
	d, err := gatt.NewDevice(option.DefaultClientOptions...)
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatalf("Failed to open device, err: %s\n", err)
		return
	}

// Register handlers.
	d.Handle(gatt.PeripheralDiscovered(onPeriphDiscovered))
	d.Init(onStateChanged)
	select {}
}

This might sound like a dumb question, but have you made sure to expose your phone to other bluetooth devices? I believe in the newest version of android you just have to go to bluetooth settings and you see a message at the bottom about it being exposed to other devices.

I believe that by default phones are not exposed so it is possible your code is fine but the phone isn’t exposed.

Edit: I’m not sure how to do this on older versions of android of iphones, but if you go to the bluetooth settings it will likely be obvious.