Using go project locally

(Go newbie here)

If instead of using go get to install a library, I want to clone the repository locally to use it, what would I have to do?
My GOPATH is /home/reik/go

Just putting the cloned repository into my /home/reik/go and then going inside /home/reik/go/hep/ where hep is the name of the repository, and executing go build doesn’t work.

[reik@reik-msi hep]$ go build
    can't load package: package hep: code in directory /home/reik/go/src/hep expects import "go-hep.org/x/hep"

Neither does go get

[reik@reik-msi hep]$ go get
    go get: warning: modules disabled by GO111MODULE=auto in GOPATH/src;
    	ignoring go.mod;
    	see 'go help modules'
    can't load package: package hep: code in directory /home/reik/go/src/hep expects import "go-hep.org/x/hep"

Looking at the go-hep.org/x/hep import, does this mean this library cannot be built locally?

1 Like

Hi, instead of cloning the repo to $GOPATH did you try

=> go get go-hep.org/x/hep.

This will download the package to /home/reik/go/src

Take a look at this line of the error can't load package: package hep: code in directory /home/reik/go/src/hep

So it is looking for hep inside of src directory of your $GOPATH.

1 Like

In the old school style you can put cloned repository in /your_project_name/vendor folder.

1 Like

But does this mean that I can modify the source code and rebuild it after getting it installed with go get?

1 Like

Yes, you can. But if you want to use a custom version of hep in your project vendoring is probably a good idea as @geosoft1 pointed out.

1 Like

So… does /your_project_name/vendor/ have to be in my GOPATH?

For example in this case,
the core package is in GOPATH/src/go-hep.org/x/hep, so would the package with my local changes be in GOPATH/src/go-hep.org/x/hep/vendor/hep?

Using go build in the root directory of the package? In this case GOPATH/src/go-hep.org/x/hep?

1 Like