Use map with atomic/sync package

Hey experts,

I am new to Golang. I was learning the atomic/sync package. I came across the following code:

package main

import (
	"fmt"
	"sync"
	"sync/atomic"
)

type mapFunc struct {
	mapV map[int]int
}

func newMap() mapFunc {
	return mapFunc{
		mapV: make(map[int]int),
	}
}

func main() {
	var wg sync.WaitGroup
	var v atomic.Value
	//var mu sync.Mutex
	v.Store(mapFunc{mapV: map[int]int{0: 1, 1: 2}})

go func() {
		var i int
		for {
			i++
			//mu.Lock()
			s := v.Load().(mapFunc)
			m := s.mapV
			m[0]++
			mapX := mapFunc{
				mapV: m,
			}
			v.Store(mapX)
			//mu.Unlock()
		}
	}()

go func() {
		var i int
		for {
			i++
			//mu.Lock()
			s := v.Load().(mapFunc)
			m := s.mapV
			m[1]++
			mapX := mapFunc{
				mapV: m,
			}
			v.Store(mapX)
			//mu.Unlock()
		}
	}()

wg.Add(5)
	for i := 0; i < 5; i++ {
		go func() {
			defer wg.Done()
			//mu.Lock()
			mapX, ok := v.Load().(mapFunc)
			if !ok {
				panic("Error")
			}
			fmt.Println(mapX)
			//mu.Unlock()
		}()
	}

wg.Wait()
}

I have one doubt. If I execute the above-mentioned code with the race flag, I get a data race error. But when I use locks, then everything works fine. So my question is, how could I achieve this with only atomic.Value or atomic package without the use of mutexes? Because when using mutex I don’t require the Load and Store methods. I could simply initiate the map inside main goroutine and use:

mu.Lock()
m[0]++
mu.Unlock()

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance

We can’t read and write at the same time, this is because writes to a map can cause the map to change. This has to do with how hash maps are implemented, there are a number of great articles written about this, here is a link to the actual source code.