Strange cmder behavior

I just started with Go and generally I am new in programming.
I noticed a strange behavior of cmder bash session when I run a compiled to exe Go program.
I put the program into the Windows folder.
It just calculate an md5sum of a text. The command line argument is the text.
When I run the program by cmd or cmder/cmd session it runs as expected.
If I run it by cmder/bash session the system tells me that there is no such file or directory. It takes the argument as a path.
Why is that? I am asking because it’s more convenient for me to use bash syntax.

2 Likes

Sounds like a build architecture problem. As far as I understand:

1. the compiled binary is for windows/amd64 (I’m assuming you’re operating on Windows)
  2. cmder/bash should be operating in unix architecture, which also means there are a lot of architecture to choose from. (Suggest linux/amd64).
  3. cmd is operating on Windows architecture, therefore, the existing binary works.

Try cross-compile into linux/amd64 and use cmder/bash to find the new binary. You need to export GOARCH=linux/amd64.

I previously wrote a guide here: https://sites.google.com/view/chewkeanho/guides/go/build. However, I did no have the command line for Windows to cross-compile. You might need to explore a bit.

Keywords: cross-compile, GOARCH

NOTE: I may be wrong since there is limited information available from your question.

1 Like

I’m not sure if I understand you correctly… What do you mean by “I put the program into the Windows folder”? Are you talking about C:\Windows here? Please remove it there, thats the OS’ space and shouldn’t be touched by you.

From what you describe otherwise, it seems to be a discrepancy in PATH between both environments. Usually bash will inherit the PATH of the parent environment (windows system in your case), at least if you are using a bash from a POSIX compatibility layer as cygwin or “git for windows”. You might have overwritten it in the .bashrc then though.