Specifying a function needs a reference?

I’m relatively new to strictly typed programming, and I’ve seen code like:
fmt.Scan(&name)

I understand why is it passed by reference, since we want to modify the existing variable, and not just make a copy of the value inside the function, and yet I’ve tried looking up documentation, and both:
https://golang.org/pkg/fmt/#Scan
and
https://golang.org/src/fmt/scan.go?s=2653:2699#L53
Didn’t have anything mentioned about passing the value by reference (both specify a ...interface{})

I’ve also tried experimenting with the code and doing fmt.Scan(name) and maybe it should throw an error or something, since you obviously need to pass the variable by reference, otherwise it will be lost in the void

My question is, could the documentation somehow mention that the value should be passed by reference? Maybe have it something like a ...*interface{}?

Thank you

Hey @arno,

This shows the importance of checking returned errors. What you’ve missed here is the part in the documentation where it specifies the following:

If that is less than the number of arguments, err will report why.```

So for example, if you run the following with error checking you will receive an error stating `type not a pointer: int`:

package main

import (
    	"fmt"
    	"log"
    )

func main() {
    	var a int
    	_, err := fmt.Scan(a)
    	if err != nil {
    		log.Fatalln(err)
    	}
    }

However, that being said, I don't see any reason why it shouldn't be more specific in the documentation about it upfront, but with any scanning, you should always check the errors being returned.
1 Like

Thank you for your reply, I agree with you completely on using the return values of the function, however I also think that err should be checked in more unpredictable cases

Where as I think this is more intuitive that you need it by reference and not just pass the value, there is absolutely no point in doing otherwise