Slice to slice assignments

Hi everybody,

I am new to the Go language and trying to understand some concepts. I have the following piece of code & func appendInto:

https://play.golang.org/p/F6w0rK3b98m

I think what my code does is pretty clear, so I suppose no need to explain. My question is why in func appendInto subslice assignment (line 37) gives a compile-time error? I referred to the corresponding Effective Go paragraph about the slice assignments inside the piece of my code. Even though it is the wrong statement to use for my purpose, I would expect this to be a valid action since it should assign the array list1 to finalList?

So what am I really missing here?

Thanks in advance.

It gives a compile-time error because assignment requires that the left hand side either be addressable or a map indexing expression, and slice expressions are not addressable. To make assignments to subslices work, the compiler would have to translate the = operator for slices into a call to copy. I don’t think this will ever happen because you could just write the call to copy yourself.

Slices are essentially the following structure*:

type stringSlice4 struct {
    data *[4]string
    length int
    capacity int
}

So your code essentially does this: The Go Playground

If we stick with that example, slicing a []string (e.g. subslice := list1[1:2]) essentially translates into the following**:

subslice := stringSlice4{
    data: &list1.data[1],
    length: 1,
    capacity: 2,
}

So a slicing expression computes and returns a new slice which is a compound data type.

Assigning to a subslice (e.g. finalList[:len(list1)] = list1[:]) would translate to this:

stringSlice4{
    data: finalList.data,
    length: list1.Len(),
    capacity: finalList.data,
} = list1

Which doesn’t make sense. What you’re really looking for is a way to copy the elements from list1 into another slice, which is exactly what the copy function is for.