Simple way to write string and/or varible to file

I have been working through the tutorials found at https://gobyexample.com/writing-files; however, I am a little over my head.

Do I need to create a buffer for the item to be written to before writing to file? I have found so many ways to create a file and write to it that I am not sure what is really taken placing and going on.

I would be appreciative if someone can someone offer a simple Python -to- Golang examples that I can work through and discuss?

Thank you
RR

How would you write to a file without content (a buffer)?

I not sure to be honest. I am new to a buffer concept since in TCL and Perl you can write the variable/scalar directly to the file handler.

However, I hoped to find something similar in Go that I can use to write a variable directly to a file handler without having to worry about the buffer and the number of bytes stored in the buffer.

Also, I want to say - if you walk me through the buffer concept and concepts… I would be glad to learn how the buffer works and move forward with using a better approach to problems in coding.

RR

Actually, you can do the same in Go like you do in Perl. To do that, you need to open the file to get a handler for the file first, like so (it’s actually almost the same example in go by example site):

f, err := os.OpenFile(file, os.O_APPEND|os.O_CREATE|os.O_WRONLY, 0644)
if err != nil {
  panic(err) // i'm simplifying it here. you can do whatever you want.
}
defer f.Close()

Then, you can just write a string to the file like so:

f.WriteString("hello world")
f.WriteString("what's up?")

You can even write a formatted message to the file handler like so:

fmt.Fprintf(f, "my age is %d\n", 95)

Side Note: Please also read the article in this link.

1 Like

Let’s go through the gobyexample’s example:

• ioutil.WriteFile is used when you want to write to a file once.

• It creates or truncates the file, you can’t append).
  • os.Create is like os.OpenFile