Shall we call all the IO relate function in goroutine?

Hi all, I’m new with Golang. When I first learn goroutine, I found it’s amazing.

I was wondering when shall we use goroutine?

For example, for the monadic async style in other language, like OCaml, basically we do IO function like follows:

let handle_file (filename: string) =
  let%map text = Reader.file_contents filename in
  int_of_string text;;

The return type would be int Deferred.t , when we call this function, the scheduler would arrange it in the best performance.

In Golang, I just created function like:

func check(e error) {
	if e != nil {
		panic(e)
	}
}

func handleFile(filename string) string {
	dat, err := ioutil.ReadFile("./file.txt")
	check(err)
	res, err := strconv.Atoi(dat)
	check(err)
	return res
}

Just not sure if maybe we should call this function via goroutine or directly?

I’m not familiar with functional programming languages, but the specific use case you have here makes me think of Python’s asyncio package (and packages based on it) and C#'s System.Threading.Tasks.Task type where there’s a difference between “normal” values and future/task values.

Go doesn’t have this distinction; the runtime automatically shuffles goroutines around OS threads and/or delegates IO to background OS threads so that you don’t need to bother with async vs. synchronous functions.

The direct call in your code to ioutil.ReadFile is fine, however your check function is not idiomatic Go unless you handle the panics further up the call chain.

1 Like

Thanks for your replying, from my understanding, Golang will call all the IO relate function by goroutine implicitly, and we don’t need to make it explicitly like this:

func main() {
  out := make(chan int)
  go handleFile("./file.txt", out)
  fmt.Println(<-out)
}

func handleFile(filename string, out chan<- int){
  dat, _ := ioutil.ReadFile("./file.txt")
  res, _ := strconv.Atoi(dat)
  out <- res
}