Setting up the environment : I feel so frustrated

Hello everyone.
Although being an IT engineer for more than 20 years, having developped in C, C++, C#, Python, Ada, Java … I’m totally new to Golang but a couple of days ago, I wanted to create a Rest API and I said to myself … hey it’s the opportunity to learn something new, so let’s have a go … :blush:
yeah ok lame joke, let’s get to the point :

I can’t even start coding because the environment just doesn’t work. I have exactly the same problems on windows and linux.

• I installed golang v1.19 (the latest), it was pretty straightforward

• I created a simple directory … T:\TestAPI

• I created a main.go file with basic “hello world” in that directory and i just ran “go run main.go”. It went perfectly well. I also compiled with “go build” and so far no problem.

• I started to test a dummy api with gorilla/mux and lib/pq … and the nightmare began:

• I set GOPATH to T:\TestAPI

• i tried installing mux and pq with a “go get” command, but it said that
    1/ go get is obsolete and i should use go install , with the @latest suffix.
    2/ go.mod file is not found in the current directory

• I installed mux and pq via go install … and it seemed to work … pkg subdirectory created and code inside.

• I tried a “go run” on my main.go file, and it said : no required module provides package github.com/gorilla/mux: go.mod file not found in current directory or any parent directory; see 'go help modules'

• Fair enough, i created a module …

T:\TestAPI>go run main.go
main.go:10:2: no required module provides package github.com/gorilla/mux: go.mod file not found in current directory or any parent directory; see 'go help modules'
main.go:11:2: no required module provides package github.com/lib/pq: go.mod file not found in current directory or any parent directory; see 'go help modules'

T:\TestAPI>go mod init TestAPI
go: creating new go.mod: module TestAPI
go: to add module requirements and sums:
        go mod tidy