Seeking Volunteer Mentor to Enhance My Go Programming Abilities

Hello, Everyone,

I am DOU Xiaobo, a hearing-impaired individual from the People’s Republic of China.

In China, my surname is Dou, and my given name is Xiaobo. However, it is common for people to address me by my given name.

I was a university student majoring in Computer Science and Technology from September 2004 to June 2008.

Due to my hearing impairment, I have faced challenges in securing a good job for the past 13.5 years and have not had the opportunity to work in the field of coding or as a software engineer.

On October 23, 2021, I visited the Microsoft Office in Shanghai and met a director who offered me a position as an Administrative Assistant. The role involved spending 30% of my time on administrative tasks and the remaining 70% on learning and improving my coding skills.

I worked at Microsoft from February 10, 2022, to February 9, 2024. During this period, the director sent an email to his team, asking if any engineers would volunteer to be my mentor and help me enhance my coding skills.

Since February 10, 2024, I have been unemployed and have not had any job opportunities. Due to Microsoft’s policy, the maximum duration for an Administrative Assistant role is two years, and they do not renew contracts beyond that period. The director tried his best to find a new job opportunity for me, but unfortunately, I was not able to secure one. Job positions are scarce, and the requirements for interviews have increased, making it difficult for me to continue working at Microsoft as a software engineer.

In February 2024, I purchased a new MacBook Pro and began self-studying coding. I have been writing some code in Go and have uploaded some code to my GitHub, but I am having difficulty improving my coding skills in Go. Moreover, I often don’t know what small projects I should write code for in Go.