Problem with bytes.Buffer

Hello Together,

i am a go beginner :slight_smile: and i am coming from germany, and i hope you can help me.

In the moment i am working on a little backup/copy program. Nothing special, only copy.
You can find the code-snippet here: https://play.golang.org/p/vhBunDg92V

There ist nothing magic in the whole Programm, a litte bit more as the snippet.
(For example before copy, making the Folder …)

The Implementation of the FileOpener interface makes a os.Open(filename) and os.Stat(filename) and a Checksum, and give the ReadCloser Interface inside the File back.

The Implementation of the FileWriter interface makes a http Post Request with the file as body input.

The whole program works ok.
Also when i copy bigger files, for example 1GB, the program needs not more than 10MB, very Nice.
Only working with the ReaderCloser Interface :smile:
func copyFileNormal(opener FileOpener, writer FileWriter, src, dst string) error {…}

Now i was a litte bit experience with buffering the file first before to write.
func copyFileBuffered(opener FileOpener, writer FileWriter, src, dst string) error {…}

How i do this ?

Depends on the version inside the function, the program needs now 3 * file size of memory
When i now copy a file with 1GB the Program needs now 3GB, not so good.
The whole file size with little bit overhead is ok, but not 2 * or 3 * of the file size.

What do i wrong ?
Or is that a normal behavior of the GC ?
Which Version is the best or is the a better solution ?
Or what is the problem here ?

Greets and Thanks
Michael

I’m not sure how you are measuring memory use and there isn’t enough code to run it myself…

I would start by benchmarking the different versions and running the benchmarks with -benchmem to get a GC-aware memory measurement. Here are some resources to get started:

Happy to help if you have problems getting this to work.

Hi,

thanks for the tips, this was a good start point.