Problem installing newest version of golang

Hi Guys, I am new to Go programming language. I wanted to install the latest version of go on my Ubuntu 18.04.3. I already had golang-1.10 on my system. I searched online and got to know to install the latest version of go you just write “sudo apt-get install golang-go”. However it says golang-go is already the newest version. I know there are other methods through which i can install golang-1.13. But my question here is why the latest version doesn’t get installed automatically with apt-get.

2 Likes

Because canonical has not yet updated it.

It is a common problem that packages in those big distros are a bit “dated”. This is mainly, because the distributors want to test packages first.

According to the Ubuntu installation instructions on the golang wiki there seems to be a PPA available, if you trust its owner, you can install from there.

If you do not trust the owners of the PPA you could still the officially proposed way of just extracting the tarball into your local harddisk. Remember though, that you need to update that go manually then, and updating means, deleting the old and extracting the new.

Alternatively you could use distribution that catches up faster, though they usually need a lot of knowledge about linux and the system they are installed on, or work different to how one might be used to:

• Gentoo and derivates (compiles everything from source, installations and updates usually take a very long time, needs deep knowledge of linux and the system its installed on)
  • Arch and derivates (usually not more than 2 or 3 weeks behind upstream updates, also you can easily report outdated packages through the websites package catalog, similar to Gentoo you need a deep understanding of linux and your system)