Pointers are still a mystery to me

Let me start saying that I have no informatics background whatsoever, but I do like coding, and I do like doing it in Go :slight_smile:
I am not a newbie, it has been already 4-5 years that I am coding (sporadically tho) in Go, and I believe I have a good knowledge of the Go ecosystem given the fact I managed to create several running-fine apps.

However, there is something that I really do not understand, pointers. Just to be clear, I do understand what pointers are, but I really not able to grasp where/when/why I should use them.

Why one would do this

i, j := 42, 2701

p := &i         // point to i
	fmt.Println(*p) // read i through the pointer
	*p = 21         // set i through the pointer
	fmt.Println(i)  // see the new value of i

p = &j         // point to j
	*p = *p / 37   // divide j through the pointer
	fmt.Println(j) // see the new value of j

and not this?

fmt.Println(i) // read i directly
	i = 21         // set new i value directly

j = j / 37   // divide j directly

Also, could someone explain me with a less trivial example where pointers have an advance over calling the variable directly?

1 Like

Your examples are without use-case context so they aren’t the right example of showing how pointer is used. Hence, the confusion.

For simple function context as shown above, example here:

func HelloWorld() {

fmt.Println(i) // read i directly
	i = 21         // set new i value directly

j = j / 37   // divide j directly
}

Then the 2nd one makes a lot more sense as it makes no sense to use pointers at all.

In the context of the following processing function however:

func Calculate(i, j *int) {
    if i == nil || j == nil {
         return  // handle error and return. Can't operate
    }

fmt.Println(*i) // read i through the pointer
	*i = 21         // set value directly to the memory i
	fmt.Println(*i)  // see the new value of i

*j = *j / 37   // divide j through the pointer