Please Recommend Some Fun Paperback Introductions to Go

I’m just beginning to learn Go, really for the sheer fun of it, and joined this forum a few days ago. I am already aware that this community offers a great GitHub Go Wiki that includes links to some nice educational resources for learning Go, including online tutorials and paperback books.

I’d like to purchase a paperback introduction to Go for the purpose of being able to read it at a relaxing pace, interspersed with trying out some examples of Go code. Accordingly, I’d be most grateful if a few members of the community could post some of their own recommendations for such paperback books that might be their favorites. :slight_smile: Thanks!

It may be relevant that I already have some experience with programming in other languages, such as Python and Java, and so am familiar with general principles of programming.

The go programming language is my favorite book:

https://www.gopl.io/

It’s slightly outdated (no generics and it predates Go Modules) but it’s one of the better programming books on any language I’ve read. You can read up on generics and go modules pretty quickly on go.dev to supplement your knowledge there. Alan Donovan is an excellent author and Brian Kernighan has been writing books with Rob Pike since 1984:

If you go to the website you can read the first chapter for free. There are other options, but none I’ve enjoyed quite as much as this book. The pacing is perfect for me (it’s a rather quick read compared to many!) and the level of detail is also just right.

2 Likes

Thanks, @Dean_Davidson! The online Preface and Tutorial of the Donovan and Kernighan book look great, so I may go ahead and purchase a paperback copy of it. Meanwhile, if anyone else here has a favorite to recommend, I’d gladly consider additional suggestions.

Here are a few links for modules and generics to supplement your knowledge there:

One other book that might be of interest: