Parse ugly txt file, split in section, join rows and create a csv file

Hello,
I’m a newbie with Go and I don’t know what is the best approach to solve this problem.

I have a txt file like this.
The final result should be a csv file with (see my comment on gist):

• 1st row = date from line 4; start from line 5; end from line 5
  • 2nd row = lines 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15 joined (less line 12, always the fourth of the “section”), remove some field and format other (bold on the comment)
  • 3rd row = 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23 (less line 20)

and so on.

I think that the better solution is to split the file in “section”, separated by
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------*-------------------------------------;

and after:

• for the first section ignore all line except 4 and 5
  • for the other section remove unwanted line, join the others and working on some text

My first problem is split the file in… “rows slice”?
Any hints? :grin:

Thanks a lot,
Marco

Perhaps better to use Logstash for this kind of thing?
https://www.elastic.co/products/logstash

What you describe would be pretty trivial for Logstash.

Thank you for the reply.
So, do you suggest to use Logstash for this kind of job?
I have to create a csv from this ugly bookkeeping export file and pass it to XLCubed. This… two or three times a month.

:slight_smile:

Perhaps not the full log stack, but maybe you can find a standalone version of grok. The tool used for pasting by log stack

Some doubts about the first block of code (it is a different event) but I can try this way (multiline codec and moooore grok).
I thought it was easier with Go. :speak_no_evil:

Grok is designed to parse data out of semi-structured text.

Most common parsing approaches aren’t suitable for that and need fixed grammars.

Of course for grok needs to learn just another language to actually define that parser.