Noob looking for development answers

Hi. I’m a software developer that deals mostly with proprietary ERP SQL development (Peoplesoft) and I’ve done some C and VB in the past and am looking to learn something new to develop a simple web app for personal use for my local makerspace. I hope to post something in the jobs forum at some point to get a basic web app running that I can build upon, and I’m hoping to get info here to fine tune this request.

I’ve read over the Resource guide at the top of the help forum (great resource BTW), which as a lot of good references for language basics, books and IDE’s, but some areas have me not knowing exactly where to start.

Eventually, I want to develop a database application that is web based which is essentially a way of maintaining member data and allowing members to sign in and update their data.

Many of the example vids I’ve seen are done at the prompt level, which is not my preferred environment, so the IDE’s out there are a welcome sign. Is there a current favorite that people prefer?

Also, on the database side, is there a preferred platform such as nosql, or mysql? Preferably one that has an IDE for building the tables. I’ve tried visual studio with mysql and the versioning issues are a freaking nightmare, and I think go will be simpler (assumption).

And if I’m hoping to make this a web app, do I start right on a server/cloud, or do I make it local hosted and then publish? My naivete with this platform has me concerned with the transition, especially if I plan on hiring someone to get the core app working. Though I don’t mind eventually paying for a server to host it, I was hoping to find one that is free for development, like pantheon is for drupal.

One last question… I know web/html is it’s own thing, but are there “templates” that some go modules/packages can work with as a default so I don’t have to learn to be a css guru?

Thanks in advance.
Jeff