New to arrays, variadic functions and pointers

Hello there,

I am new to go and currently I am at the point where I just learned that hard-copy values are evil (in some cases). Now I have a small example here and want to to know:

1. Why do I have to * (dereference) at the marked position in code

2. Is this efficient what I am trying to achieve there or is there a better option to achieve the same result (with less memory consumption)?

type SomeObject struct {
        a string
        b string
        c string
    }

type SomeInterface interface {
        setup(name string, unknownAmountOfObjects ...*SomeObject)
    }

type InterfaceTest struct {
        ExaxtAmountOfObjects *[3]SomeObject
        name string
    }

// implement the interface by implementing this method
    func (interfacetest *InterfaceTest) setup(name string, somename ...*SomeObject) {
        interfacetest.name = name

for i, value := range rotors {
            // check for size first
            if i < len(interfacetest.ExaxtAmountOfObjects) {
                // !!!! Why do I need to dereference here??!
                interfacetest.ExaxtAmountOfObjects[i] = *value
            }
        }
    }

Thanks for your help and suggestions in advance

Stefan

1. Why do I have to * (dereference) at the marked position in code

ExaxtAmountOfObjects *[3]SomeObject holds a value of SomeObject but you are passing to function pointer(*SomeObject) to the object, that is why you need to dereference it.

Is this efficient what I am trying to achieve there or is there a better option to achieve the same result (with less memory consumption)?

ExaxtAmountOfObjects is an array which means it is a fixed size. setup is a variadic function, you can pass as much as you want. if I would see your function without it’s implementation I would pass 4 items to the function and expect all the elements in the array.

1 Like

This line