Need help understanding `map` behaviour

Please have a look at the code gist

I am trying to append new dayContributions to the array weekContributions.AllDays.
[Line 24] is the part appends to the AllDays property of the current type weekContributions.

[Line 47-49] is the part that calls the function. The print statement prints the weekContributions array with a single member in the array. But the following print statement [Line 51] says that all map values i.e. weekContributions objects have empty arrays as AllDays property.

My aim - To append dayContribution objects to values in map activity.yearContributions [Line 28]

I think -

1. The append function is working as intended as it appends 1 member on each iteration
  2. Somehow, the currentWeekContribution.addContribution line here is only appending to the local variable currentWeekContribution and doesn’t update the corresponding value in currentActivity.yearContributions map

I am very new to golang and I think I am not following the go way / this would have worked in java or ruby
I don’t know what this behaviour is called, so can’t google search anything relevant.

Hi @vedharish, here’s my quick solution. In your func (currentActivity *Activity) restore() AllDays: make([]dayContributions, 0) it use same address of memory and it’s length is set to zero. In my solution I used pointer to allocate new address in memory in AllDays.

package main

import (
	"fmt"
	"time"
)

type Activity struct {
	yearContributions map[string]weekContributions
}

type dayContributions struct {
	Date         time.Time
	Contribution int
}
type weekContributions struct {
	Notation string
	AllDays  *[]dayContributions
}

func (currentWeekContribution *weekContributions) addContribution(additionalDayContribution dayContributions) {
	*currentWeekContribution.AllDays = append(*currentWeekContribution.AllDays, additionalDayContribution)
}

func (currentActivity *Activity) restore() {