Mysql statement problem

I have the following code:

if queryuser, err = db.Prepare("select UserID, CurrentDB from optUsers where LoginHash = '?'"); err != nil  {
  println(err)
  panic( "queryuser Statement failed to create" )
}   

var1 := req.URL.Query().Get("hash")
row := queryuser.QueryRow( var1 )
var userinfo user
row.Scan(&userinfo.UserID, &userinfo.CurrentDB)

The problem is if I use a statement to execute my query I get back no results. But if I use a db.QueryRow() and just execute the query inline I get back my results. Does anyone see anything wrong with my statement code?

thanks,

Glenn

1 Like

Hey Glen! I ran into some trouble with MySql & the db.prepare statement as well. You can take a look at my code to see how I worked around it (Im fairly new with Go & development in general, so the code needs to be cleaned up quite a bit. However, you can see how I executed my queries)

Iā€™m not sure if I understand what your problem is?

If by ā€œexecutingā€ the statement you mean to call Exec() on the statement, then yes, you do not get any database items back, as Exec() is meant for write operations.

If you want to read, then you use QueryRow() and iterate over the result set until it is empty.

row.Scan also returns an error. Catch this and check what it says.

NobbZ, where do you see me doing an exec? Iā€™m doing a queryrow and not getting results back. But if I switch to regular db.QueryRow without using the statement it works just fine.

I do not, but you said you want to ā€œexecuteā€ the query, and I asked if Exec was what you meant, which as it seems you didnā€™t.

Do you see any error messages? Have you checked the returned error value of your function calls?

First off Iā€™m surprised by the fact that Scan returns error and didnā€™t make me catch it. I thought you had to put _ any time you didnā€™t want to use a return var. So I had no idea this function returned anything.