Is Golang a good fit for robotics?

There are things like http://gobot.io/ targeted towards embedded systems. Is this really something Go is good at?
Wouldn’t something w/o a GC like Rust be better for robotics?

Note: I’m no expert, I was just curious what others thought after reading this.

I’m not entirely sure why Go 1.5’s low latency GC would get in the way for robotics ? I think it’s as good a fit as Rust could be.

Imo, it usually wouldn’t. Despite the fact that I am not a a robo guy at all, I am fairly sure Go would be great. Interesting fact: robotics is not usually about performance as such, but rather about availability of some particular kit. In the general case, like with Arduino, it won’t be an issue: Go runtime overhead is not critical.

For some really limited hardware, it would.

At last, but not least, Go1.5 introduced a new low-latency GC, which is pretty amazing.

Unless your robotics are, like, rockets, Go is probably a fine candidate language.

5 Likes

As other people have said; it depends on your application. Most robotics don’t need consistently low response times, but some applications (like self-balancing robots, and I suspect flying ones) do.

I suspect whether or not it’s suitable depends on the hardware you’re running on, and how much you’re taxing the GC. The new GC is capable of collecting hundreds of megabytes in <5ms on modern CPUs, but I have no idea how it performs on embedded-class hardware.

1 Like

why wouldn’t you use go for a rocket?

1 Like

Rocket requires super low-latency hardware stabilization things, high frequency of sensor data polling, lots of real-time actions that require ridiculously tiny software latency. For Go these latencies could reach 5 ms (and it is huge).

2 Likes

To add to Ilya’s answer, consider this anomaly from a SpaceX first stage landing attempt (they don’t use Go on their rockets, but I’m just using this as an example):