Infix methods, operators and thoughts

i know i shouldn’t put this on a go forum but i don’t know where and i don’t know how to make proposals as i’m just a noob programmer …

I understand that operator overloading would increase the complexity of the language, however would a feature like infix methods be a viable alternative?

for example if you want to add 2 vectors you can declare a method like:
@infix
+#m(matrix: a, matrix:b) matrix {…}

or if you want to multiply a vector to a scalor:
@infix
*#vs(vector: a, float: b) vector {…}

pros: avoids ambiguity of what you’re operating on, is infix like operators should be so the flow is natural
cons: looks like ■■■■

what are your thoughts and apologies for posting this here

Hi, @gorilla_sama, and welcome to the forum!

No apologies necessary; Technical Discussion seems like a fine place to discuss a new feature. I will tell you, though, that most of the frequent posters in this forum are not members of the Go language team, so even if we agree with you, we don’t have the power to add any new features to the language.

That being said, I Googled what “infix methods” are and I doubt Go will ever have them. I see one place they’re used is in Kotlin, and I found a description here:

2. What Is an Infix Notation?

Kotlin allows some functions to be called without using the period and brackets. These are called infix methods, and their use can result in code that looks much more like a natural language.

This is most commonly seen in the inline Map definition:

map(
  1 to "one",
  2 to "two",
  3 to "three"
)

“to” might look like a special keyword but in this example, this is a to() method leveraging the infix notation and returning a Pair<A, B>.