I'm very new to programming I came from an IT background

I want to learn go. I’ve been ready a lot of books. None of them are making sense to me right now. What’s the best way to learn Go programming? I need help desperately. I want to learn it so I can switch career.

I tend to learn things by writing little programs. Trying to do something specific helps me figure out how things work and gives me context for what I am learning.

Since you have an IT background, one way to go is converting an existing script you use to Go, or writing a new one. Just take something you need to do anyway and do it with Go.

The main piece of advice I have is to always check your errors. My article https://pocketgophers.com/error-checking-while-prototyping/ describes a good way of doing so, especially for little programs you write for yourself.

1 Like

A concrete answer to this is hard because learning Go and learning to program are two different things. My best advice for learning to program in general is just to write a lot of programs. It doesn’t matter if you start off very small, you just need to write a lot of code before you start to get good at it. No amount of courses or reading will make up for this.

You will also want some resources so you can start learning new things and writing more complicated programs. Below are a couple articles that I feel do a pretty good job of listing out resources available for beginners. Hopefully you can find some books, courses, or videos in there that you find helpful.

Disclaimer - I wrote the one at calhoun.io

1 Like

Oh, and when you have questions, come back and ask them.

The more specific the question, the better we can help answer it. It is also extremely helpful to tell us what you are trying to do, and how you tried to do it.

Code is the best way to tell us how. If your code doesn’t work, post it anyway. Tell us what you want it to do and what it is actually doing.

1 Like