How to you handle application configuration?

Hey all,

As a hobby developer I’m limited to my own imagination when it comes to writing code, and I realise I dont always do things the best way. I’m currently looking at how my application gets its configuration and have 2 ideas so far; global or pass the config around.

I’m keen to hear what your thoughts on each are, and what you do personally.

At the moment I have the global implementation which looks like:

https://play.golang.org/p/nRFBPnb3KR

I am no expert, but I would make it global.
And then unmarshal the config from a simple JSON file, in a init() method.

No external dependencies, simple and clean.
It even supports nested configurations.

ioutil.ReadFile(…)
json.Unmarshal(…)

JSON file example:

{
   "Server": {
      "Port": 80,
      "Hostname": "localhost"
   }
}

Great example: http://goinbigdata.com/persisting-application-configuration-in-golang

If you’ve only got a couple of configuration parameters, environment variables work. But if there’s much more than that JSON or YAML configuration files are pretty much standard. If you use JSON files, there’s github.com/clbanning/checkjson#Validate to see if there are typos in the config file keys.

I have implemented the dotenv tool by Joho which works well. After re-reading my op, I think what I really meant to ask was how should I manage configuration scope.

For now I have gone with a global object, but I’m haunted by voices saying global is bad. It doesn’t seem right that a function depends on an external entity, which isn’t clearly defined in its signature. Equally, rewriting everything to take a config object also feels pretty horrific.

Hi Sion:

That particular problem is on every app developers todo list. Big dev orgs will have a reusable solution, and fortunately, the Golang community has one too: it is called Viper.