How to use Go to parse text files

I am new to Go programming.

Watching the invention of Go story by Rob Pike and Go discussions involving Ken Thompson, I believe I have a good overview of what purposes they expect Go to be used for. Go is both a low level compile to native machine code language as well as a server-side production environment project language. Where the C language syntax is difficult to understand, Go syntax was simplified (I assume versus C) to be easier to understand.

My takeaway from this research, Go is based on the power of the C language, simplifying the syntax, and including features that would benefit where many developers work, the “server room”. As if C and Erlang got married and had a Go child.

I would like to learn how to work with files, open,read,close.

This is an example from Clojure in a Nutshell talk.

Download a book as text, Project Gutenberg
Convert Book to string
Provide a result containing word characters only including apostrophies for possessives
Return the first 20 words in the book
20 most frequently used words
20 longest words
Longest palindrome

How would this program function when run on non-English texts? What results do you expect?

First off, check out:

And you could get pretty far with a naĂŻve implementation using strings.Split:

func main() {
	// Download a book
	res, err := http.Get("https://www.gutenberg.org/cache/epub/1513/pg1513.txt")
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err)
	}
	// Read the body
	body, err := io.ReadAll(res.Body)
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err)
	}
	res.Body.Close()
	// Make into a string
	converted := string(body)
	// Split based on space to get all words in the book
	lines := strings.Split(converted, "\n")
	// Keep track of the longest word.
	longest := ""
	for _, line := range lines {
		allWords := strings.Split(line, " ")
		for _, v := range allWords {
			if len(v) > len(longest) {
				longest = v
			}
		}
	}

fmt.Println("Longest word:", longest)
}