How to use a package which was created by other people?

Hi. I’m a front-end developer with basic PHP/MySQL knowledge. And Go is a new thing to me.

I’m trying to use a package which was created by other people.

The documentation of that package mentions commands like this one:

-block-file=[FILENAME]

Those commands look like Node.js commands. In the past, I used the Node.js things several times for the reason of SASS, uglify-js, etc, but I cannot recall completely how to use it at the moment. When it comes to these terminal things, it can be quite abstruse to a front-end developer like me.

I tried searching the answer on the internet and YouTube but couldn’t find step-by-step tutorials.

My operation system is Windows 7. I already installed Go in my D drive.

Let’s say I’m at desktop right now. Is the first step opening the Command Prompt?

Thats arguments to the binary you can compile from that repositories project.

If you only import the github.com/maxmind/geoip2-csv-converter/convert package, you won’t need to care for them.

Only if you want to use the program that is created using that source, you need to use those together with that executable.

Edit and PS: You should never close your terminal unless you need it to reload the environment. It should be the second most often used tool in programming, right after a simple editor which might even run in a terminal. No-one needs Blowclipse or IntelliHuge…

Thanks. If I understand correctly, those commands are not needed and the Command Prompt probably is not needed, neither.

That package has a documentation on GoDoc. Could you please let me know what the first step I need to do to use its ConvertFile function is?

import it, then call it, roughly:

package main

import "github.com/maxmind/geoip2-csv-converter/convert"

func main() {
  err = convert.ConvertFile("~/input.data", "~/output.data", true, false, false)
  if err != nil {
    panic(err)
  }
}