How to structure ssh code to re use it along my program

Hi,
I am pretty new to golang, so not sure how to structure my code.
What I have is a program that connects to different servers and does some stuff there, like listing a file, creating a directory, uploading a file, executing a command… But those steps are not sequential, so what I am doing now is configuring and establishing the connection every time I need this.

auths = append(auths, ssh.Password(backupServerPasswd))
	config_destination := &ssh.ClientConfig{
		User: backupServerUser,
		Auth: auths,
	}

client_destination, err := ssh.Dial("tcp", backupServerURL, config_destination)

sftp_destination, err := sftp.NewClient(client_destination)

So what I am wondering is whether would be better to have a function that sets everything up and then I just call this function when I need to do something (since I am doing stuff in to different servers, I guess I would need two functions.)

Cheers

I would probably wrap up the stuff related to a single connection into a type:

import (
	"github.com/pkg/sftp"
	"golang.org/x/crypto/ssh"
)

type connection struct {
	config *ssh.ClientConfig
	ssh    *ssh.Client
	*sftp.Client
	*ssh.Session
}

func Dial(config *ssh.ClientConfig, url string) (*connection, error) {
	conn := &connection{
		config: config,
	}

var err error
	conn.ssh, err = ssh.Dial("tcp", url, config)
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}

conn.Session, err = conn.ssh.NewSession()
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}

conn.Client, err = sftp.NewClient(conn.ssh)
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}

return conn, nil
}

Methods not shared by sftp.Client and ssh.Session can be called on connection, e.g., conn.Mkdir(path). Shared methods need to be called with, e.g., conn.Session.Close(); though you should consider writing wrappers for those. conn.Close() would ideally close all the related resources.

Then you can name the connections after the servers and get code like backupServer.Mkdir(path).