How to Optimize Go Programs for Maximum Performance?

Hey,

I’m new to Go programming and would like to know what are some best practises for optimizing Go programs for optimal performance.

I’m very interested in learning how to:

• Increase the efficiency of memory allocation and trash collection.

• Reduce the number of context transitions and optimize CPU utilization.

• I efficiently use concurrency and parallelism to speed up my programs.

Is there any software or libraries that can assist me with these tasks? Are there any frequent blunders or pitfalls I should avoid?

Thank you.

First off, welcome to the forum. Second, I’ll leave this quote from Knuth right here:

https://wiki.c2.com/?PrematureOptimization

And a quote from Ian Lance Taylor on a blog post about when to use generics:

Let’s start with a general guideline for programming Go: write Go programs by writing code, not by defining types. When it comes to generics, if you start writing your program by defining type parameter constraints, you are probably on the wrong path. Start by writing functions. It’s easy to add type parameters later when it’s clear that they will be useful.

This is about generics, but the advice applies. Write your Go programs by writing code. When it comes time to optimize, you can focus on the specific parts of your program that are slow or using up too much memory. In my experience, as long as you’re writing sane code, memory allocation and garbage collection in Go is mostly a non-issue. I’ve had to dig into the garbage collector in my .NET days, but have yet to with Go because it is efficient and basically Just Works™.

What will you speed up using concurrency and how/why? Concurrency inherently adds overhead (though it’s less of an issue in Go due to goroutines) and I’ve seen people fall into the pitfall of just assuming it will speed things up. That said, this book is a good place to start.