How to get Nth Element in Array?

I am brand new to the Go Language, so forgive me if this question is too simple, but I can’t figure it out.

I’m trying to customize the Gogs UI for a project I’m working on: http://try.gogs.io

There’s an object array for “Organizations”. Let’s say I have two organizations: “Company ABC” and “Company XYZ”. If I want to display both in my page I can do this:
{{range .ContextUser.Orgs}}{{.Name}}{{end}}

What I’m trying to do is just display the first one. I initially assumed that this would work:
{{.ContextUser.Orgs[0].Name}}

But it doesn’t work. Any ideas what the correct syntax is?

Robert

Hey @RobertW,

You can use the index template function, which you can find information about here: https://golang.org/pkg/text/template/#hdr-Functions.

Here’s a small example.

package main

import (
	"html/template"
	"log"
	"os"
)

func main() {
	// Create a slice of ints.
	s := []int{5, 10, 15}

// Create a template that writes the value at index 1
	// of the data that it's given.
	t := template.Must(template.New("tmpl").Parse(`{{ index . 1 }}`))

// Execute the template to os.Stdout and pass it `s` as it's data.
	if err := t.Execute(os.Stdout, s); err != nil {
		log.Fatalln(err)
	}
}

Benjamin, I really appreciate you responding but your answer completely confuses me.

Once again, the object array I’m working with is: .ContentUser.Orgs

What I want to do is retrieve the first element from this object array and then the Name property from that element. Using my earlier example, I want to retrieve the string “Company ABC”

I’m assuming that this could be done with code strictly inside the pairs of braces. So what code would go in here: {{ … }}

That’s what I’m trying to find out.

Thank you,

Robert

I think you are looking for something like this for example:

package main

import (
	"html/template"
	"log"
	"os"
)

type Company struct {
	Name     string
	Location string
}

func main() {
	// Create a slice of ints.
	s := []Company{