Help With This Use of Pointers

I’ve never programmed in a language with pointers before. I wrote this code and I’m not actually sure why it works:

package main

import (
	"encoding/json"
	"fmt"
	"io/ioutil"
	"log"
	"os"
	"path"
)

type Gist struct {
	AccessToken string
	Files       []string
}

type Conf struct {
	Gist Gist
}

// Attempts to read the .sinkerrc.json file in the user's
// home directory
func ReadSinkerRc() ([]byte, error) {
	homdir, err := os.UserHomeDir()
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}
	data, err := ioutil.ReadFile(path.Join(homdir, ".sinkerrc.json"))
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}
	return data, nil
}

// Parses the json from the config.
func ParseJsonConfg(data []byte) (Conf, error) {
	var conf Conf
	err := json.Unmarshal(data, &conf)
	return conf, err
}

// Gets the configuration data, taking care of reading
// and parsing the json from the config file
func Get() (*Conf, error) {
	data, err := ReadSinkerRc()
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}
	conf, err := ParseJsonConfg(data)
	if err != nil {
		return nil, err
	}
	return &conf, nil
}

func main() {
	config, err := Get()
	if err != nil {
		log.Fatal(err.Error())
	}
	fmt.Println(config.Gist.AccessToken)

}

Get returns a pointer to a Conf and an error because otherwise we can’t express a nil Conf, but we can express a nil pointer because the default 0 value of a pointer is nil. And there is no way to have a nil value of a struct, right? If so, why not?

What I don’t understand is that if Get returns a memory address to a Conf and an error, why in main I can access its properties of Conf without getting its underlying value? Why don’t I need to do *conf to get the underlying value?

Because a struct is a value in memory and a pointer is an address of memory. The value of an uninitialized pointer is nil . Each element of an uninitialized struct value is set to the zero value for its type. Of course, you can have a pointer to a struct and the pointer can have a nil value.