Help with compile error, please

I’m fairly new to Golang. I am trying to implement what, in the C, language would be a tagged union. I found some example code on: Go and Algebraic Data Types - Eli Bendersky's website

I think I understand the example, and am trying to emulate it in my code. Here is a excerpt of my full program that gets an error that I don’t understand. It all seems okay to me.

package main

type Obj interface {
    isObj()
}

type Tspecial struct {
    subtype int
}

func (Tspecial) isObj() {}

func make_special(subtype int) *Obj {
	n := Tspecial{subtype}
	return &n
}

func main() {
    // dot := make_special(1)
}

It gets the following error with go version 1.19.1:

./test.go:15:9: cannot use &n (value of type *Tspecial) as type *Obj in return statement:
*Tspecial does not implement *Obj (type *Obj is pointer to interface, not interface)

I think I have things such that Tspecial implement Obj, so why wouldn’t the address of a Tspecial be a *Obj ?

In any case, can someone please tell me my error. I’m sure there’s a way to do what I’m trying to do.

package main

import "fmt"

type Obj interface {
	isObj()
}

type Tspecial struct {
	subtype int
}

func (ts *Tspecial) isObj() {}

func make_special(subtype int) Obj {
	return &n
}

func main() {
	dot := make_special(1)
	fmt.Println(dot)
}

Well, your suggestion compiles, bt I can’t understand why it does. It looks very wrong to me, because the function make_special says it returns an Obj, not a point to an Obj, and your code returns “&n”, the address of n, which should be a pointer to an Obj.

Can someone please explain, slowly, or point me to documentation, and help me understand this. I must be missing something fundamental.

Sure!

• an interface value isn’t strictly a pointer or not a pointer, it’s just an interface

Please check this version first:

package main

import (
	"fmt"
	"reflect"
)

type Obj interface {
	isObj()
}

type Tspecial struct {
	subtype int
}

func (t Tspecial) isObj() {