Help to decipher this code!

Hi all,

Great to see so many passionate developers on here. I am new and would like some help. I am an operations manager so while I appreciate the great work you all do, I am illiterate in it.

Please could you give me an idea with // of what each of these statements mean? I am honestly confused. Thanks!

pq = pq.Column(`
    ((ROUND((100 - (SELECT distance) + (LEAST(p.c_review_count, ?) * 2.5 +
     IF(p.professional_photo_graphic_id, 0, -5))),6) * 10000000000) + (c_review_count * 1000) +
     (IF(p.c_first_impression_count > 0, (((p.c_review_count * p.c_review_average_score_overall)+
     ((p.c_first_impression_count  /  2 )  *  p.c_first_impression_average_score_overall)) /
     ((p.c_review_count + p.c_first_impression_count) - (p.c_first_impression_count / 2))),
     p.c_review_average_score_overall) * 10)) as best_match
     `, params.ReviewCount)
    pq = pq.OrderBy("best_match desc, distance")
    return pq

It is a calculations that produces a score at the end. Just would like to know how it arrives at that.

Thanks,
Eric

Its hard to tell without knowing where pq comes from.

But at least I can guess, that the huge raw-string is processed alsewhere, and its result will be stored back into pq. After that pq will be ordered by the given keys and returned.

Thats it mostly from a go point of view. I’d guess the real works happen in that external system, which you did not gave any information about. Also I am not sure if we can help here to actually help to dive into the code in the string even if we knew what external system it is, since its obviously not go.

Thanks NobbZ, I will clarify with the team what language it is.

I think my query is around what different things mean seperated by +. For example, what does this mean → ((ROUND((100 - (SELECT distance) + (LEAST(p.c_review_count, ?) * 2.5

And what does it mean → IF(p.professional_photo_graphic_id, 0, -5))),6) * 10000000000)