Help running a GO program

Hi all,

Apologies for the newbie question. I’m trying to run a program that is designed to decrypt external Western Digital drives when the bridge board which contains the encryption information, dies. The drive on its own without the board cannot be read normally.

Thankfully someone has developed a program that will decrypt the drive, which is found here https://github.com/andlabs/reallymine
Its written in GO language which I am completely new to as I’m not a programmer. I downloaded the zip file which contained the multiple .go files which make up the program, and unpacked them into a directory

I then downloaded the GO language files from here https://golang.org/doc/install, downloaded the .msi installation file for Windows and ran it, and installed the files in a directory on my c drive.

I looked up some tutorials on running go programs, which lead me to trying the following
Opened command prompt, cd’d to the directory I unziped the program files to, then typed “go run main.go” (as I assumed that main.go was the main program file I needed to run), but it threw lots of errors saying lots of things were undefined. So I’m assuming I need to run it in some way which compiles all the .go files that are all in that directory, but I don’t know how.

Can anyone help? Many thanks.

If you already have your Go environment ok, open a console and cd in your project folder (GOPATH). From here, just type :
go get github.com/andlabs/reallymine

And when source is in your project source directory, everything is already complied and ready (in [GOPATH FOLDER, SEE YOUR ENV]/bin). If this folder is currently into your PATH, juste type the command like explained in README. If not, goes into the bin folder and run the command from here.

I hope this help you.

Hi Ludovic, many thanks for the reply. I’m afraid some of what you said has gone over my head, I’ll try to break it down.