Hello i need help building first go files i am total noob dealing with go

Hello, my operation system is windows 8, I installed go to C:\Go\bin and in that location i find GO.EXE when i try to open it, it closes automatically i can see flash blink and some information, when i open it trought cmd prompt it still does the same thing. I would like to build thous files, thous files are custom not related to the issue. The readmed says: build: source/dar.go source/qvm.go source/QVMDisas.go source/qvmd.go gd source -o qvm. I tryed everything, but the go program dosent just work.

Hey, that’s not cool.

2 Likes

Why are you trying to open go.exe?, you need to setup your $GOPATH, read the installation page on http://golang.org

For testing if you have Go installed, after adding the path you installed Go onto your env variable, create the folder structure, $GOPATH/src and create a main.go file in it, after that, run the main.go file. If you want to check which version of Go you have in your machine, go version.

You have installed Go, after you have the $GOPATH created, all you need to do is add it to your environment variables. Read this up to understand the basics a bit before jumping to executing Go code. https://thewhitetulip.gitbooks.io/webapp-with-golang-anti-textbook/content/manuscript/02.1IntroductionGo.html.

Thnx for your replays, but i installed it properly i still dont have the compiler i dont undersand this program language how would i setup the gopath if i dont have compiler… it didnt install even the compiler…

Environment variable is a Microsoft Windows functionality. You can use setx program for setting up GOPATH environment variable.

I didn’t get it. What’s not cool?

There’s no need to tell the OP off because of their English skills. I’m sure there are many languages that you or I do not speek proficiently.