Golang & openssl

Hi all and nice to see you guys over here also have a Discourse forum :slight_smile:

I am very very new to golang and am more busy with reading the docs, then programming, but I guess that is normal for the start.

I have two topics, in which I would like to ask the community for help.

OpenSSL.

I started reading the doc, but somehow I can’t find the part, where is written, what equivalent goland approaches to the shell are. I really think that would help people move over.

So, what I do is converting the certificate (cer or pem) and key (key or pem) into a PKCS12 (.pfx) file.

My shell commands are:

If “cert” PEM: openssl x509 -in inout_cert.pem -out output_cert.pem
if “cert” DER: openssl x509 -inform der -in input_cert.cer -out output_cert.pem

if “key” PEM: openssl pkcs8 -in input_key.pem -passin pass:PASS -out output_key.pem
if “key” DER: openssl pkcs8 -inform der -in input_key.key -passin pass:PASS -out output_key.pem

Finally:

openssl pkcs12 -export -in output_cert.pem -inkey output_key.pem -out server.pfx -password pass:PASS

That will generate the wanted server.pfx file with the same password as the key (if he had one).

ATM I do this in golang as a wrapper and I indeed execute the command as a shell command and listen for stdout and stderr to capture everything. It is not slow (30ms)… but for multiple reasons (mentioned below) I don’t want this and want to do this in golang directly with the openssl lib.
What I also do is: storing the files temporarily on the server, which I also don’t want, if possible.

So my questions are:

1. how to analyse a cert with golang openssl? Is it possible to just throw something at it and it tells me “this is a ‘Cert’ in PEM format” or “this is a ‘Key’ in DER format”?
  2. Can I take (from my form upload) the files and not store them as files, but keep them in memory or as []byte variable and convert them like this, so I don’t have to store them?