Golang for Raspberry pi?

Hi, I am a beginner in the field of software programming. Previously I worked in the hardware field, known Golang with advantages such as parallel computation or compiling directly to binary via gcc. As for raspberry pi programming, is golang really optimal or superior to python, C and Java languages? Hope everyone gives me an opinion, thank you!

An opinion (facts?) is that C is faster than Python or Java. And Go is almost as fast as C. We use Go on Debian (relative to Raspian) and it works fast and reliable. I guess that both Go and C have a small footprint, but as Java and Python needs extra interpreter, I guess that they have bigger footprint.

1 Like

One potential issue using Go with a Raspberry Pi is the size of the binary. Go binaries are standalone, requiring no VM or interpretter, which means the compiled binary is substantially larger. A basic “hello, world” binary is ~1.7Mb in Go whereas it’s only kb in other languages.

TinyGo is a third-party compiler only compiles code absolutely needed to run the binary. So, the binary is substantially larger. TinyGo is specifically designed for things like Raspberry Pi.

2 Likes

Thank you very much for being a great mentor for helping me so thoroughly, thank you. Like the pros and cons of golang you mentioned above, then can I ask more is that if you can ignore the size of the binary file compared to C when compiled, go is really better than C in embedded programming or IOT. Next is about Goroutines which is a special feature of Golang if it is possible in embedded programming and IOT it is good or not and if it is good then it will be somewhat and if not good then the reason. And finally let me ask if writing firmware for electronic devices is really good or not. Thank you very much.

“Better” is hard (or perhaps impossible) to answer: