'go mod tidy' gets strange error

This forum won’t let write a github URL several times, so I have removed the dot-com in the following.
I’m fairly new to GO, but have been A Computer Guy for decades. I am mystified by the following error:
I have a go module that imports another package of mine called ‘hdump’. It worked fine when it was a local module (available via “…/hdump”). But then I moved it to github. Then when I changed the import to reference “github/tgphelps/hdump”, and do a “go mod tidy”, I get:

$ go mod tidy
go: github/tgphelps/hdump@v0.0.1: parsing go.mod:
	module declares its path as: githum/tgphelps/hdump
	        but was required as: github/tgphelps/hdump

You can look at go.mod at github/tgphelps/hdump and see that it does NOT declare itself in that way (as “githum”, not “github”). I have been fighting with this all day, and can’t see what’s wrong. There maybe have been a time in the past where the hdump module on github had that error in it, possibly, but to make sure that was gone, I removed that github repo, verified that the go.mod was right, and created another github/tgphelps/hdump that doesn’t say “githum” ANYwhere. But I’m still getting that error! How can that happen?

My calling package begins with:

package trc

import (
	"fmt"
	"io"
	"github/tgphelps/hdump"
)

and its go.mod file says:

module github/tgphelps/trc

go 1.17

I can’t see how the calling package can be wrong. Can anyone enlighten me?

Hi @tgphelps,

Did you possibly declare the module indeed as githum.com/... and corrected that typo later?

If so, the typo might still be cached at the Go module proxy server.

→ Try pushing a new version number (e.g. v0.0.2) to GitHub and then do a go get github.com/tgphelps/hdump@v0.0.2 (or go get github.com/tgphelps/hdump@latest).

(BTW, quick tip: use backticks to mark text as code, and use a line with three backticks to start and end a code block. This way, URL’s should not pose a problem anymore in the forum editor.)