Go Install & $PATH (MacOS

Hello, I am new to Go and not exactly proficient in other languages, but I can work my way through some issues. I’m hoping this is simple, I just can’t seem to solve it…

I was following the Go Intro codes and came to the Compile and install the application page. I was able to run $ go build my hello.go file and run it as $ ./hello. When I ran the
$ export PATH=$PATH:/path/to/your/install/directory and then the $ go install, I was getting

-bash: hello: command not found

My export path was $ export PATH=$PATH:/Users/*ComputerName*/go/bin/hello, and when I $ echo PATH… what a mess that shows.

Could someone help give me an idea of what to try? Thank you,

Hi @Box-O-Rocks, welcome to the forum.

This sounds much like Go expecting a different path here.

Try

go env GOBIN

and compare this with the path you have added to $PATH.

In case go env GOBIN is empty, run

go env GOPATH

which returns the parent directory of Go’s local pkg and bin directories.

Tip: you can change GOBIN to point to a directory of your liking by calling

go env -w GOBIN=/your/path/to/custom/gobin

(But I would first try the other way round and match the $PATH to the current GOBIN.)

1 Like

The PATH variable shall point to the folder containing the binary, not to the binary itself.

Also when you say echo $PATH shows a mess, please tell us what the mess is. It might still be expected.

1 Like

When I $ echo $PATH it returns this…

/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.10/bin:/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/3.8/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/go/bin:/Library/Frameworks/Mono.framework/Versions/Current/Commands:/Applications/Wireshark.app/Contents/MacOS 

Preformed your suggestion. No joy.

-bash: hello: command not found

According to the Go instructions I should be able to run $ hello and have it return

map[Darrin:Hail, Darrin! Well met! Gladys:Hi, Gladys. Welcome! Samantha:Hail, Samantha! Well met!]