Gentoo go1.21.4 safe installation along with go1.20.4

Hi
I am new to go as a Gentoo Linux user. The current go in my Gentoo Workstation is of go1.20.4 which are depended by:

equery d go
 * These packages depend on go:
app-metrics/prometheus-2.43.0-r2 (>=dev-lang/go-1.18)
app-shells/fzf-0.39.0 (>=dev-lang/go-1.18)
dev-lang/go-1.20.4 (dev-lang/go)
dev-util/android-tools-34.0.0 (dev-lang/go)
dev-util/promu-0.14.0 (>=dev-lang/go-1.18)
sys-libs/libcap-2.69 (tools ? dev-lang/go)

In this case, I have no a normal way to install the latest go version of go1.21.4 to build some advanced network project. The official package had been downloaded and installed in “/usr/local/" by which I can only call the binary path /usr/local/go/bin/go to implement the building of target project. I have just read some basic tutorial in https://go.dev/doc/ while I have not found the accurate description of my problem yet.

Please tell me the official and normal way to select the version of go compiler from local path like “/usr/local”.

Thanks

Now I use makefile flexibly to call the go1.21.4 along with the Gentoo system go1.20. Are there any better method than makefile? I don’t confirm it’s robust to build the go project with local installed version of go with a makefile with specific $(GO), if you feel it’s flexible, please tell me.
Thanks.

Hi @Kocha_Saito, welcome to the forum.

There are several options available to install multiple versions of Go side-by-side.

The built-in method is go install:

$ go install golang.org/dl/go1.18.3@latest
$ go1.18.3 download

The binary of this version can be invoked as go1.18.3.

For more convenience, several third-party tools allow managing Go versions, such as:

Read more details here: How to use multiple Go versions alongside each other

Respect Mr ChristophBerger,